Prayer for a Friend

“Prayer For A Friend”

by Casting Crowns

Lord, I lift my friend to You, I’ve done all that I know to do
I lift my friend to You
Complicated circumstances have clouded his view
Lord, I lift my friend up to YouI fear that I won’t have the words that he needs to hear
I pray for Your wisdom, oh God, and a heart that’s sincere
Lord, I lift my friend up to YouLord, I lift my friend to You
My best friend in the world, I know he means much more to You
I want so much to help him, but this is something he has to do
And Lord, I lift my friend up to You’cause there’s a way that seems so right to him
But You know where that leads
He’s becoming a puppet of the world, too blind to see the strings
Lord, I lift my friend up to You
My friend up to YouLord, I lift my friend to You, I’ve done all that I know to do
I lift my friend to You

Not really praying this now for anyone in particular. This song was kinda like a surprise find yesterday afternoon. I have never bothered to listen to the whole album because I really really really liked another song from the same album that a junior recommended.. And knowing my music taste and Casting Crowns, I am a bit afraid of being disappointed if I did go through the entire album. (That said, some of my favourite songs are from Casting Crowns, weirdly. Haha.)

It’s a type of prayer I make often. A rather heartbreaking prayer to be honest. I usually feel so hurt, desperate and helpless when I start praying, but the amazing amazing thing about prayer is that I feel so humbled before God. I feel so delightfully small in the presence of my big and strong God. I usually start rambling nonsense, making less sense to myself every single second..and then just silence. I don’t know what to say but I just lean close and rest, knowing that God hears the cries of my heart.

I like this prayer. Because it reminds me that yes, intercession and prayer.. it is really about Him.

Well, what do you know, I guess there are friends I have been always praying for.

Leave a Reply

