Little gem from the Celebration of Discipline by Richard Foster

‘Of this much we can be sure: if we love the creation, we will learn from it, In The Brothers Karamazov Dostoevski counsels,

Love all God’s creation, the whole and every grain of sand in it. Love every leaf, every ray of God’s light. Love the animals, love the plants, love everything. If you love everything, you will perceive the divine mystery in things. Once you perceive it, you will begin to comprehend it better every day.

Well, it is not even written by Richard Foster, but I really liked this chapter because it talks about the Discipline of Study, and it was just so so amazing. Unknowingly, this Discipline is just what I used to call ‘uniquely me’. Being buried not just in books, but also drunk on watching passerbys, observing friends, noticing the small actions that people do and silently countering them in my mind. Not just people, but through observing nature too! I loved this part. I kind of utterly dread reading the book because it is kinda dry and boring to me. I really need a lot of effort to plough through it, even though I see the value of it. In other words, I lack discipline. But this, wow.

🙂

Leave a Reply

